Tom Brooke

Tuomas Kainulainen


NYOS are a noisy, loop-driven instrumental duo based in Finland. The band formed 2014 when UK-born guitarist Tom Brooke and drummer, Tuomas Kainulainen met after Tom moved to Finland. Bonded by a mutual love of noisy bands, coffee and playing shows, they wrote their first record Vltava, a 26 minute one-track piece, over the winter of 2014 and have been touring constantly since mid 2015, taking their (literal) wall of noise out to more than 200 gigs in over 20 countries.

NYOS self-published 2014’s Vltava, and 2016’s follow up album Nature, both of which were recorded at Tonehaven Studio by guitarist Tom Brooke, and released on CD, LP and Cassette. Their third album, Navigation was released in September 2017 as a collaborative release with Karlsruhe based Meta Matter Records. Navigation, which received widespread praise from the press, was again recorded and mixed by Tom and mastered by the world-renowned Mandy Parnell (Björk, Aphex Twin, Sigur Ros).

In February 2019 the band released album number 4 – ‘Now.’ on which the band threw all rules and formulas out of the window and focussed solely on making the most captivating, varied, interesting and fresh-sounding record they could.

We are now making it available on vinyl, along with 2016’s Nature – these 2 great albums shall serve as a foretaste of the band’s upcoming 5th album, to be released in the first half of 2022 via Pelagic.