Lo! – “Monstrorum Historia” CD


In stock

SKU: PEL032CD Categories: , , Tag:


After their critically acclaimed debut album Look and Behold (Pelagic Records 2011), Lo!, hailing from Sydney, Australia, are now back with their second album Monstrorum Historia… and it really is a monster of an album, an angry beast spitting nails and fire in every direction. One of the refreshing things about this band is the way they weave different styles of music into their own, heavy garment: there are plenty of faster parts, relentlessly driven by heavy-hitting drummer Adrian Griffin’s extraordinary playing, but there are also slow, doomy, atmospheric passages that suck the listener into Lo!’s dark cosmos. There are anthemic metal riffs, but there is also the energy of the more abrasive side of hardcore in their songs, represented by bands like Cursed or Black Breath…

Lo! have come to remind you of glorious times, times when Mastodon were using samples of Jurassic Park to kick off their records”,Metal Hammer (UK) wrote about Look and Behold, and Big Cheese added: “this gang of Australian brawlers sound like Beecher and Converge going at it in a cage match… sludgy hardcore hasn’t sounded this good in ages!”

After a very active year 2012 in Australia, including shows with Russian Circles, Doomriders, Sleep and The Ocean, Lo! supported Cult of Luna and The Ocean during their 2013 European tour, including a performance at Roadburn and Impetus Festivals.

The monochrome artwork perfectly represents the spirit of Monstrorum Historia. The vinyl version comes with a 2-folded silk-screened print (unfolded it is close to 1 meter in length!) including silver colour and heavy 180 gram black vinyl.

Pelagic Records is also offering a limited silk-screened Roadburn poster.


  1. As Above – 3:23
  2. Bloody Vultures – 2:49
  3. Ghost Promenade – 4:21
  4. Caruncula – 3:49
  5. Haven, Beneath Weeping Willows – 2:35
  6. Fallen Leaves – 4:26
  7. Crooked Path: The Strangers Ritual – 1:54
  8. Lichtenberg Figures – 3:16
  9. Bleak Vanity – 4:23
  10. Palisades Of Fire – 3:41
  11. So Below (Before We Disappear) – 6:43

Buy on iTunes

Additional information

Weight 0,15 kg